News

10% Cap on THC

The House Appropriations Committee will be taking HB 7117 up tomorrow Tuesday 4/9 at 10:30 AM for a VOTE. Last Wednesday morning over objections from many lawmakers, the Health and Human Services Committee of the Florida House approved PCB HHS 19-02 from Ray Rodrigues which became HB 7117.

This bill has a lot of VERY BAD issues mixed in with a few good things like a veteran ID card discount FFC has been fighting for and emergency rulemaking. See some of these below and read the full bill as well, but before you do that make sure you CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATORS below and tell them about all of the negatives in this bill for patients. They are so BAD many veterans went all the way to Tallahassee to speak against this! (Video below) These need to be amended, or they need to NOT pass this bill!! 71% of Florida did not vote for 10%! Patients are just asking that the legislature give them what 71% of Florida voted for, whole cannabis medicine! Call Your Elected Officials!

HB 7117 is Negative for Patients because it would:
-Cap THC Limits to 10% on flower products
-Further limit patients to a 35 day supply
-Add further limitations for 18+ and pediatric patients
-Push back testing regulations further

Here is the bottom line:

-This bill will actually make patients have to smoke more to get the relief they need (The House led the charge against smoking and now will cause more for patients to get the relief they need)

-This bill will basically be a tax on patients (Patients will have to spend and consume more driving them to the black market)

-They want to test to make sure THC isn't too high, is that for just THC, or THC-A & THC-B or anything else?(Do they know there is more then just THC and CBD in this plant? They havent even gotten their testing or research regulations implemented correctly and yet keep adding more)

-Limiting THC will not stop with just edibles and smoked cannabis, they will claim this about other products next if they can find one study to back up their claim (This is AS BAD OR WORSE then their genius idea for a 90 day wait way back)

-This bill needs its negatives amended or this bill must be stopped. 71% Did not vote for 10% limitations and they are asking for lawsuits all while hurting patients AGAIN! Maybe they should amend it to 71%!


You can find the full Bill details here: https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sect…/Bills/billsdetail.aspx…


If you can contact your legislators the best way is to do so is below:
Appropriations Committee

Chair
W. Travis Cummings (R)
Travis.Cummings@myfloridahouse.gov
(850) 717-5018

Vice Chair
Dane Eagle (R)
(850) 717-5077
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov

Democratic Ranking Member
Kionne L. McGhee (D)
(850) 717-5117
Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov

Bryan Avila (R)
(850) 717-5111
Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov

Cord Byrd (R)
(850) 717-5011
cord.byrd@myfloridahouse.gov

Ben Diamond (D)
(850) 717-5068
Ben.Diamond@myfloridahouse.gov

Bobby DuBose (D)
(850) 717-5094
Bobby.DuBose@myfloridahouse.gov

Nicholas X. Duran (D)
(850) 717-5112
Nicholas.Duran@myfloridahouse.gov

Joe Geller (D)
(850) 717-5100
joseph.geller@myfloridahouse.gov

Kristin Jacobs (D)
(850) 717-5096
Kristin.Jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov

Evan Jenne (D)
(850) 717-5099
Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov

Mike La Rosa (R)
(850) 717-5042
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov

Chris Latvala (R)
(850) 717-5067
Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov

Thomas J. ''Tom'' Leek (R)
(850) 717-5025
Tom.Leek@myfloridahouse.gov

MaryLynn Magar (R)
(850) 717-5082
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov

Ralph Massullo, Jr. (R)
(850) 717-5034
Ralph.Massullo@myfloridahouse.gov

Cary Pigman (R)
(850) 717-5055
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov

Scott Plakon (R)
(850) 717-5029
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

Rene Plasencia (R)
(850) 717-5050
Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov

Holly Merrill Raschein (R)
(850) 717-5120
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov

Paul Renner (R)
(850) 717-5024
Paul.Renner@myfloridahouse.gov

Ray Wesley Rodrigues (R)
(850) 717-5076
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov

Carlos Guillermo Smith (D)
(850) 717-5049
Carlos.Smith@myfloridahouse.gov

Chris Sprowls (R)
(850) 717-5065
Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov

Richard Stark (D)
(850) 717-5104
Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov

Jay Trumbull (R)
(850) 717-5006
Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov

Barbara Watson (D)

(850) 717-5107
barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov

Jayer Williamson (R)
850) 717-5003
jayer.williamson@myfloridahouse.gov

Clay Yarborough (R)
(850) 717-5012
clay.yarborough@myfloridahouse.gov

Appropriations Committee Hearing: Tuesday 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM Webster Hall 212 Knott Click Appear at meeting

Connect:

Contribute:

Contact Us.

  • Address:
         Florida for Care
         3921 Alton Rd. Suite 272
         Miami Beach, FL 33140
  • Phone: (850) 364-4868
Press Inquiries: